Multiple-Entry Visa

Multiple-entry Visa

Multiple-entry Visa

Multiple-entry visas are popular permits picked by travelers, as they enable several trips to a foreign country for a longer period of time, in contrast to a single-entry visa that allows only one visit.

A visa for multiple entries is treated as a travel authorization for several trips to the selected destination. Thanks to that, you don’t need to reapply for a new permit as its holder.

The Definition of Visa for Multiple Entries

A multiple-entry visa is a special permit, thanks to which travelers can enter a foreign country more than once using the same visa. Usually, the type of visa that allows multiple visits to a foreign country can be used for a longer period.

Sometimes, this visa enables a specific number of possible trips to the place during the validity period, depending on the country’s visa policy.

Also, there are many types of visas for multiple entries. For instance, you can pick a multiple-entry Schengen visa. It grants entry to 26 countries, including Austria, Hungary, Greece, Poland, and Switzerland, for 90 days within a validity period of 180 days.

Also, there is a Sri Lanka Tourist ETA that enables double entry to the country. However, a visa for multiple entries is generally issued for an unlimited number of trips during the validity, such as Australian eTA.

How to apply for a Multiple-Entry Visa

There are 2 ways of applying for a visa, depending on the destination. You can obtain it online or at the embassy/consulate. In order to apply remotely, you must prepare an electronic device with an internet connection and:

  1. Provide the necessary information, such as name, surname, nationality, date of birth, passport number, etc. Check the details twice to eliminate possible mistakes.
  2. Attach required documents, such as photos or a scan of the passport bio-data page.
  3. Cover the fee. Choose one of the available payment methods (PayPal, credit/debit card, etc.).
  4. Wait for the processing. Then, check your email inbox and receive your visa in PDF form.

The process is very easy and intuitive. You won’t have a problem with it. In case an electronic visa is not available, you should contact the nearest embassy or consulate.

After that, you need to make an appointment, prepare the necessary documents, and go to the interview. If everything is confirmed, you will receive a visa after the processing.

Examples of Visas Granting Multiple Entries

There are many types of visas granting multiple entries to non-native nationals:

  • Canada eTA – it is a multiple-entry authorization for foreigners who want to visit Canada for tourism, business, or transit. The eTA is valid for 5 years (or until the expiration of the passport).
  • Multiple-entry Schengen Visa – thanks to it, you can travel to the Schengen area countries during the 180-day period for up to 90 days.
  • US ESTA – perfect for nationals from Visa Waiver Program who want to visit the USA for no more than 90 days.
  • Australia eVisitor Visa – valid for 12 months, can be used for tourism or business by European citizens who plan to visit Australia.

Sometimes it is possible to pick a single or multiple-entry type of visa. For instance, it is possible in the case of a Turkey e-Visa that won’t expire within the next 180 days.