Cambodia Visa Policy

By Visa Expert

March 22, 2023

Cambodia Visa Policy

The Cambodian visa policy determines which nationals are required to hold a visa to enter Cambodia and what type of visa they should obtain depending on the traveling purpose.

Most foreign travelers need a visa to travel to Cambodia – there are less than 10 countries whose citizens can enjoy short-term visa-free stays in Cambodia.

Cambodia offers different types of visas covering various traveling motives and covering different durations of stay in the country.

Travelers from more than 200 countries can enjoy electronic visa application that involves no embassy visits whatsoever.

A holder of a Cambodia eVisa can travel to Cambodia for tourism-related reasons and stay there for up to 30 days.

Visitors from less than 10 countries who are not eligible for an eVisa can instead obtain a Visa on Arrival in Cambodia, which may entail standing in long lines at the border.

Finally, there are a few countries whose nationals must apply for a visa for Cambodia in a traditional way, i.e., at one of the Cambodian consulates or embassies, regardless of the type of their visit, including short-term tourism-related visits.

Every traveler, irrespective of nationality, must obtain a consular visa if they plan to stay in Cambodia for more than 30 days, or if their traveling reason is relocation or work in Cambodia.

Keep on reading to find out more about Cambodian visa regulations.

Tourist visas for Cambodia

Foreign travelers who wish to enter Cambodia for tourism, in most cases, will need to hold a Cambodia tourist visa. Depending on the traveler’s nationality, Cambodia offers various options for tourist visas.

The most convenient option is eVisa for Cambodia, which covers tourism purposes, but the stay in the country cannot exceed 30 days.

Tourists wishing to visit Cambodia but not eligible for an eVisa application may instead obtain a Cambodia Visa on Arrival. The VoA can be issued either as a business or tourist visa, depending on the indicated purpose of stay.

Citizens of a small number of countries are required to get a tourist visa directly from the Royal Cambodian Embassy. For this purpose, they must book an in-person appointment.

Please note that all Cambodian tourist visas entitle their holders to a 30-day stay in Cambodia unless a traveler applies for a visa extension.

Below, you will find more details on each type of visa, depending on nationality.

Cambodia eVisa

The Cambodia online visa is issued for short-term purposes of tourism character. There are around 220 countries whose nationals can apply for a Cambodia eVisa online, which means that most countries in the world are eligible for an eVisa.

In order to apply for a Cambodia eVisa, an eligible applicant needs to complete a simple online application form by providing some essential details, and covering the processing fee, the approved visa will then be delivered to their email inbox.

The applicant must possess a passport with at least 6 months validity and with at least 1 blank page needed to receive stamps both when entering and exiting Cambodia.

A Cambodia eVisa is issued as a one-entry visa enabling a 30-day stay in the country. If one wishes to re-enter Cambodia, one will need to apply for a new visa online or request an extension of their current visa.

The eVisa for Cambodia is accepted only at certain entry points, including 3 major aiports and 4 land border crossing points:


  • Siem Reap International Airport
  • Sihanouk International Airport
  • Phnom Penh International Airport

Border crossing points

  • Cham Yeam (Koh Kong Province) when entering from Thailand
  • Poi Pet (Banteay Meanchey Province) when entering from Thailand
  • Bavet (Svay Rieng Province) when entering from Vietnam
  • Tropaeng Kreal Border Post (Stung Treang) when entering from Laos

Visa On Arrival for Cambodia

The Cambodia Visa on Arrival is a visa that certain travelers may acquire after arrival at the Cambodian border. A visa obtained this way can be used for tourism or business-related purposes.

Currently, there are less than 10 countries whose nationals cannot apply for an eVisa, but instead are eligible for a Visa on Arrival in Cambodia.

Getting a VoA always entails some disadvantages, like the possibility of long lines and paperwork. Travelers must prepare for a time-consuming application process. Moreover, they must know that the VoAs can be obtained only at certain Cambodian entry points, including some land border crossing points and airports such as Phnom Penh and Siem Reap.

Applicants must also hold a passport that will remain valid for at least 6 months from the date they plan to visit Cambodia. Also, they need to provide two passport-sized color photos.

The VoA, like an eVisa, enables staying in Cambodia for 30 days. It is also possible to apply for its extension.

Please note that every country eligible for a Cambodia eVisa is also entitled to get a Visa on Arrival.

Embassy or consular visa for Cambodia

There are a few nationalities who must get a visa for Cambodia in a traditional way, no matter their traveling reason.

Tourist visas issued directly at the Cambodian Embassy allow for staying in the country for up to 30 days but can be extended for additional 30 days for a fee.

Royal Cambodian Embassies are located around the globe, and travelers can obtain their visas there for various travel purposes, such as work, study, or business.

Important: All those travelers who plan a stay in Cambodia exceeding 30 days should also visit the nearest Royal Cambodian Embassy and get a visa in a traditional way.

Below, there is the complete list of countries that must obtain an embassy visa, no matter their type of visit to Cambodia.

  • Cocos Islands
  • Christmas Island
  • French Polynesia
  • French Guiana
  • Sint Maarten

Visa-free access to Cambodia

There is a small number of travelers who can enjoy visa-free access to Cambodia. This visa exemption, however, is limited to up to 30 days. For longer stays in Cambodia, they will also need to apply for a relevant visa.

Travelers from visa-exempt countries do not need to obtain any visa to travel to Cambodia for leisure and tourism-related activities.

The Cambodian visa policy states that currently, there are 9 countries that can enjoy visa exemption. All of these visa-exempt nations are sovereign Southeast Asian states, including the other members of ASEAN.

Below, you will find the complete list of visa-free countries that can enter Cambodia without a visa.

  • BruneiBrunei
  • IndonesiaIndonesia
  • LaosLaos
  • MalaysiaMalaysia
  • PhilippinesPhilippines
  • ThailandThailand
  • VietnamVietnam
  • SingaporeSingapore
  • Brunei DarussalamBrunei Darussalam

Transit information

Passengers who leave Phnom Penh International Airport on the same aircraft they arrived in do not need to have a transit visa. Please note that this is the only entry point allowing for visa-free transit in Cambodia.

Avatar for Visa Expert

Visa Expert

He is an expert in electronic visas. He has worked extensively in the travel industry and has a strong track record in helping people complete successful applications. He is adept in Visa-related laws and regulations, and is passionate about helping people secure visas quickly and conveniently.